Champion, My Champion.

Clash of Champions is the first Raw exclusive pay-per-view since the brand split, every title on the show is going to be defended. Raw has a LOT to live up to after the fantastic event that Smackdown put on earlier in the month, I have to say that I am really digging this competition between both brands. It’s been done before but this just has a different feel to it. There are some non-title matches on the card but we’ll just be talking about the title matches to keep this post from being 2,000 words.

You all know how I like to ramble…

First on my list is that tag title match that will pit New Day against Gallows and Anderson. New Day are amazing tag team champions and one day their reign will have to come to an end, I just don’t think Gallows and Anderson are the people to take it. Initially, I was really excited when the WWE acquired both of those guys from New Japan but they have kind of fallen flat for me. I don’t think they’re funny, nor do I find Gallows particularly good in the ring. Anderson I can deal with because he does actually have some good moves in his repertoire. Maybe it was the brand split, maybe people were wanting The Bullet Club so badly that they didn’t care what the guys were doing, but they aren’t in a tag title acquiring position to me. New Day are just so fantastic. They’re funny, entertaining to watch, the crowd loves them, and are a genuinely good representation of the tag team division. I would personally love to see Enzo and Cass take the belts one day, a sort of passing of the torch in a sense.

The women’s title match also got shaken up on Raw as Bayley was added, turning it into a triple threat. With the controversy of all four shoulders being on the mat when Sasha pinned Bayley last week. I have zero doubts in my mind of the entertainment value of this match, it’s going to be one of the better matches on the card. My only hope is that Charlotte loses and we get an epic, NXT level feud out of Sasha and Bayley. Initially, I wasn’t into Bayley being added because she literally had two matches on Raw and a lot of people echoed that sentiment. Raw’s women’s division is thinner (right now) compared to Smackdown and they need to give it some pizzazz.

We also get to see another Rusev vs. Roman match. This is something that we’ve seen a few times before and I literally have no comment on it. The United States Championship is the title that Roman should have gone for in the first place instead of being constantly thrust into the WWE World Heavyweight title fight. It would have given him a chance to further develop his in-ring persona, something that I think he struggles a bit with since branching out from his brothers in the Shield. I’d like to see Roman succeed and start to win the fans over, the hate he receives is unwarranted.

The main event of the pay-per-view is what really has me torn. It’s not that I dislike either man in the match, Kevin Owens and Seth Rollins are two of my favourites. What I’m struggling with is seeing Seth get another title shot. I know that the Raw roster is really thin right now due to injury and that’s limiting the talent pool a bit. You’ve got injuries and people involved in other feuds, I think they’re making the best of what they currently have. There’s no doubt in my mind that both Seth and Kevin will give the fans an enthralling match but there has to be more to the story than the two potentially going back and forth for months until Finn comes back. There needs to be a bit of a shake up.

The way I would like to see this play out is Seth loses and moves on to a different story, Kevin has an epic feud with Cesaro, and Finn comes back to beat whatever one of them has the title at the time.

The final title that will be defended at Clash of Champions is the brand new Cruiserweight Championship, held by TJ Perkins. I have to admit that I haven’t been current with the Cruiserweight Classic, I’ve barely even started watching it. What little I saw on the network and what I saw on Raw already has me excited for the division as a whole and what each competitor has to offer. Cruiserweights have always been some of my favourite wrestlers to watch and seeing them get their own division within the WWE really makes my heart happy.

Raw has a tough job to do to best Smackdown in their first branded event but I think that the competition between the two brands will benefit the fans. I just hope that both brands can keep it up to keep fans enthralled for the long-term. Every week fans are bitching on Twitter about the brand split and how we’re not getting quality programming and what not. I complain too sometimes but I am very hopeful for that silver lining and the good things to come with it.

I think we’ll be a-okay guys.

Leave a Reply

