Thank You Sting.

Photo Courtesy of WWE.

Photo Courtesy of WWE.

On March 17th, the rumors flew that Sting was retiring due to cervical spinal stenosis. The initial report I read from Ring-Rap.com also mentioned that his retirement would be formally announced during the Hall of Fame ceremony on April 2nd, the night before Wrestlemania.

I felt like this little rain cloud was over my head all day. Honestly, I felt like Eeyore from Winnie the Pooh.

I wasn’t always the biggest fan of WCW but I grew up watching it, my mom would tape it for my dad and I to watch when he was on days off. We’d get some snacks and a pop, plunk down on the couch, and watch Nitro and Thunder. We are WWE fans but we never turned down an opportunity to watch wrestling, no matter what company it was.

I don’t remember my first time seeing Sting as vividly as I do seeing the Undertaker, but I always equated the two in terms of importance to the wrestling world. Sting always had this aura around him, even with the day-glo face paint. He was electric in personality and compelling in the ring. The phrase gets thrown around a lot, but Sting really is one of the greatest of all time. Much like his WWE counterpart, he was able to adapt with the times and tap into what fans wanted to see.

I really have to hand it to him because he was there through the early days of WCW, their dominant period in the Monday Night Wars, and when that company was sinking faster than the Titanic. When WCW was bought out by WWE, many just assumed that he would jump ship and continue on. Sting proved his loyalty by not doing that and continuing his career with TNA, a company that doesn’t know their asses from their elbows on a good day. Fans always felt, myself included, that the WWE would give his career the recognition that it deserved. Over a decade had passed since the demise of WCW and fans were still waiting with bated breath for a moment that never seemed like it would happen.

Were we ever wrong.

On the day of Survivor Series 2014, rumors flew all day that Sting was there and he would be in the ring and blah, blah, blah. My dad and I immediately dismissed it because we thought that Steve Borden would NEVER be in a WWE ring. Still, a little part of us was hoping that it was true. When his music hit, we lost our minds. My dad and I screamed ‘HOLY FUCK IT’S STING’ so loud that my mom thought we were yelling at each other. I could have cried because I was so excited. For over ten years, that was the moment that I was waiting for.

Sting, much like Taker, doesn’t strike me as a man who does something unless he wants to. His WWE run may not have been what people have wanted but I am just so happy that I got to see him in the WWE. If you can;t be grateful for that, then I feel really bad for you.

His match with Seth Rollins at Night of Champions in 2015 was spectacular but he was unfortunately injured in that match. I’ve seen people blaming Seth Rollins on Twitter but they need to give their heads a shake. I don’t think that Seth set out to injure Sting, I don’t think that he intended for that to happen, but Sting’s condition was probably amplified during that match. It would be the final night that we got to see Sting in a WWE ring but the fact that he was there was good enough for me.

Wrestling fans got to enjoy watching Sting for almost three decades. He gave everything he had to us and I could not be more proud to be able to see him go into the Hall of Fame on April 2nd, retirement announcement or not. I will probably bawl like a baby and keep thinking of that Undertaker vs. Sting match that never was but I am grateful that I got to even watch Sting.

Thank you Sting.

Leave a Reply

