Excellence of Execution.

05l-STwv

This week, my favorite wrestler of all time announced to the world that he has prostate cancer. Ever since then I’ve just had this kind of sad feeling. I’ve had friends ask me how I was doing and I just feel kind of blah about it all, like someone punched me in the guts.

Anyone who knows me knows that I bleed pink, black, and white.

Bret Hart was always more than just someone I watched on television every week, he is someone who I admire greatly and look up to (yes, even at 27 years old!). He is one of the classiest wrestlers I’ve ever seen and has technical skills that many wrestlers can only dream of emulating in the ring. I can still remember vividly him shaking the 1-2-3 Kid’s hand after their match on Monday Night Raw, that moment stuck with me all of these years because that’s the kind of classy individual he is.

Some of the greatest matches I have ever seen have involved him; facing his brother Owen at Wrestlemania X, taking on Shawn Michaels in an Iron Man Match (and that is my favorite match of all time), and putting the sharpshooter on a bloody and battered Stone Cold Steve Austin at Wrestlemania XIII. He was (and still is) such an integral part of wrestling, and my life as a wrestling fan.

The greatest moment of my entire wrestling loving life was getting to see him at Bret Hart Appreciation Night after Raw in Calgary. There wasn’t a more perfect place or time to have such a great event. Raw was over and they played a tribute video, his music hit, and I cried so hard. I was three rows from the front but to even be in the same building as someone like him was such a treat for me. I will never forget that moment for the rest of my life.

I think that’s why I’m taking his cancer diagnosis so hard. He means so much to me and is really only one of two wrestlers left from my childhood. It’s him and the Undertaker. It really kind of shakes you a bit to realize something like that.

The only thing that I can really say is that I hope his surgery goes well and he kicks cancer’s ass. This may be his toughest opponent yet but I know he can beat this.

Fight Bret Fight.

Leave a Reply

