Review – Ricky Steamboat: The Life Story of the Dragon.

I have to be honest in saying that I didn’t really know very much about the life of Ricky Steamboat before I watched this dvd.

Actually, I think saying I knew nothing is more accurate.

What I noticed immediately while watching the documentary portion was that Ricky has so much passion for the wrestling business, even years after he had actually stopped wrestling. Since I didn’t know much about him, I truly enjoyed learning about his childhood and how he got into wrestling. It still blows my mind to think that we could have ended up with Richard Blood the firefighter or cop instead of Ricky Steamboat. I know I’m not the only one that is happy he chose wrestling!

He did have great success as a tag team wrestler with Jay Youngblood but his greatest moments were as a singles competitor. I think I also speak for a lot of people when I say my favorite match involving Ricky Steamboat is his bout with Randy Savage at Wrestlemania III. It is just so poetic and fluid, it almost could bring a tear to your eye. Both of those men told a story in that ring and literally had the crowd in the palm of their hand. In the interview portions of the documentary, you can just see the pride oozing from him over that match.

And can we talk about how disgusting it was to hear his head slam on the concrete when Jake Roberts gave him that DDT? That thud sound his head made actually made me cringe and my heart dropped.

Overall, the dvd left me with the impression that Steamboat retired long before he had to. It was clear to me from the way that his career was talked about that he could have kept going for years but bowed out gracefully to focus on other things that needed his attention. He was very selfless in leaving a career that meant so much to him to be there for his family. Coming back years later, he is still revered in the same way he was when he was actively competing. Even with all of the adulation and admiration that comes his way it is refreshing to see him remain so humble.

The only criticism I have of this dvd is that the documentary portion isn’t longer! I could have watched that dvd for hours, it was that interesting to me. I wanted to know more about his life before wrestling, his career, and his current role as a behind the scenes guy.

It is definitely a set that I will keep coming back to and something I would 100% recommend to other wrestling junkies (if they haven’t already seen it 1000 times!).

Leave a Reply

