Bringing The Heat.

Many wrestling fans probably rolled their eyes when an extra hour was added on to this year’s Summerslam, this girl was not among that group of fans.

The extra hour was 100% worth it because Summerslam was unbelievable (Monday Night Raw the following night just added to it, but that’s for later on in the post).

The card was solid and my dad and I enjoyed every minute of it, what more can you ask for? I found that there was very little on the card that wasn’t enjoyable but, even then, it was still entertaining in some way. One thing that stands out to me as being a low point was the Randy Orton/Sheamus match but they had that up first so it really wasn’t that much trouble to sit through. It was okay but the match overall was quite boring for me as I think Sheamus has the presence of a stick of butter. Okay, it wasn’t that funny but I think that you get my drift…

Another thing that bugged me was the tag team elimination match that featured Team Bella, Team B.A.D, and Team PCB. It wasn’t the wrestling that I am complaining about but rather the way in which the eliminations happened. I don’t know if I missed something in the rules but I just assumed that it would be a Survivor Series style elimination match. It wasn’t and this girl was most definitely a little disappointed in that. See what I mean about the so-called low points not really being all that bad? It sure was tough to pick even those two things because they didn’t really bother me that much. I wasn’t even mad when the Primetime Players lost the tag titles or when Kevin Owens went over Cesaro.

Maybe I’m just the eternal WWE optimist, maybe I just love wrestling so much I overlook some of the not so great moments. You get the smart asses who act like they’re in creative or in charge of booking the shows because they think it should be a certain way, I respectfully disagree. As long as it entertains, great or not so great, be happy that we get to enjoy something so universally loved and that bonds fans all over the world.

Enough of that philosophical stuff, let’s get down to my two favorite moments of Summerslam. Both are rife with controversy and deliciously entertaining. First, it’s Seth Rollins retaining his title while simultaneously acquiring John Cena’s precious United States belt.

WOOOOOO FUCKING HOOOOOO!

I was pulling for Seth to win from the second that John Cena injected himself into the title picture. Cena has my utmost respect and I give credit where it is due, but that doesn’t mean that I think he should be champion.

In fact, I think there’s no added value to his career if he gets the title another 10 times before he retires. People FREAKED out on me for that comment but I don’t give a shit. Before anyone rips me a new one, I used to be a massive Cena fan and I still am a fan of his. I don’t think it adds very much to his career if he ties or breaks Flair’s impressive record. Cena has already done more in his career than some people on the roster and in other companies can even dream of. Fans don’t want him to break or tie the record because he comes out every single week, does the same pandering promo, builds up a wrestler, cuts them down, and then yells one of his trademark slogans.

He isn’t some holier than thou being who can do no wrong, fans (for the most part I think) are sick of his shit. Seth is the opposite of what Cena represents and is the best heel that the WWE has right now, that’s why fans love and hate him. Jon Stewart jumped on the ‘John Cena Sucks’ train and delivered a chair shot to the midsection of Cena that brought him to his knees and the fans to their feet. Seth got the 1-2-3 and took the belt away from his opponent. We got all of that excitement in a match that didn’t even main event the pay-per-view!

For the first time, in god knows how long, a non-title match main evented a major show. It was the Undertaker versus Brock Lesnar and it was glorious. I’m not going to be getting into the finer details of their feud or how I feel about each competitor because everyone knows that I am a HUGE Taker fan and wish that Lesnar would just not appear on my tv. What I am going to talk about is the finish to the match, which I think was brilliant!

People are still losing their damn minds over Taker tapping to Lesnar’s submission move but it not being called. The ref can’t call what he does not see and the time-keeper was in NO position to see Taker tap anyways. I could have given two shits because Taker won and that is what I wanted to happen but it worked well with the attitude that Taker had going into this match.

He was straddling the line between face and heel, it was masterful to watch. I didn’t really understand the initial freaking out because Lesnar would have done the exact same thing if the roles were reversed. Brock Lesnar doesn’t strike me as a moral beacon so everyone can calm down.

On Monday Night Raw, we got treated to even more entertainment. It was a show that was post-Wrestlemania quality, I marked out on more than one occasion. We got the Dudley Boyz (I almost flipped my damn TV tray over!), Jon Stewart, Flair, and a very surprising appearance by the Icon.

The only segment that really lagged for me was the Miz TV segment with Team PCB but, you can’t win all the time. We also got to hear what Jon Stewart had to say about why he gut checked Cena with a chair and I agreed with him 100%. Stewart played his role marvellously and we even got to see the smatterings of a pissed off Cena. I would say that this was the spark of a heel turn but we call know that it will last until next week and then he’ll go back to pandering to the crowd and inspiring some witty remarks on my part.

Now I can move on to the most important moment of Monday Night Raw…

STING!

Man, I could have peed my pants I was so excited. People bitch and complain about the WWE all the time but it is little moments like that which keep me glued to my television each and every week. He was the LAST person I expected to be under the shroud. Maybe the statue was dressed up or destroyed in some way, maybe Cena found his way back into the arena and was going to ambush Seth, it could have been anything or anyone. I was so excited that my parents heard me screaming from the basement and they were outside in the garage.

(People tried to spoil it for me and what not but I don’t believe anything until I see it on television or the WWE reports it officially.)

Sting made it very clear that he was after the Authority and Seth’s title belt (the one he retained the night before), I couldn’t wipe the grin off of my face. Sure, the odds of Sting actually winning the title at Night of Champions may be slim but I never thought I’d get to see the day he would compete for the belt. Hell, I never thought I’d get to see him in a WWE ring but here we are!

The rest of the Night of Champions card will be revealed in the coming weeks and if it is even half as intriguing and exhilarating as the WWE title match, this girl is going to be one happy camper!

Bring. It. On.

One thought on “Bringing The Heat.

  1. Ashlee. Please. I gotta take an opposing view on many of your takes in this blog today…..First of all, that extra hour made a so so show an hour longer, and that wasn’t entertaining, it was just more. Although I will agree about the Seamus – Orton match. Neither of them holds my interest, least of all when opposing each other. Bringing Seamus back as heel was necessary, but Orton needs to be a heel too, please stop trying to make me mark for him, cuz I just won’t do it. I hear Orton’s music and I go get some coffee ice cream.
    As for the Women’s tag match, it wasn’t the style of elimination that made it suck, it was the fact that the Bellas were in it. Yes, the in ring performances have improved greatly in their division, but I give no credit to those two.
    Undertaker still gets the pops, but I’m sad on the inside when I watch him try to hang with Lesnar, even though I really want Taker to beat him.
    Now sure, I’m a Cena mark, you can ask my homeboy @PsionStorm, but that doesn’t mean I’m wrong when I tell you he’s been great as US Champ. Nothing but great matches, every week, even with a busted schnoz. Records are made to be broken, and I’d rather see Rollins feud with Cena over 2 belts, than over 1 with some dude who has been overrated for like 30 years who wears face paint to cover his wrinkles and really sucks on the mic. That match will be a snorefest.
    All that being said, I am greatly looking forward to how Rollins smarms his way outta losing the big belt to Sting AND Seamus, but he will drop the US Title to Cena!

Leave a Reply

