Out With The Old.

Photo courtesy of WWE

Photo courtesy of WWE

Stephanie McMahon brought up something tonight that really caught my attention.

This Wrestlemania could be Cena-less.

Hold the phone. This cannot be!

Oh but it can!

Cena has been a staple at the event for the last decade. He’s fought some of the biggest and baddest in the business and has achieved incredible accolades in his career. I don’t know how I’ll manage but I’m pretty sure that I can survive a Wrestlemania without John Cena.

I rip on John Cena constantly but I think he’s a great superstar and a great personality. I still love to wear my Cena merchandise and I wear that stuff with pride. He will always be a major presence in the company, on television, on pay-per-views, and will always be one of the most dedicated superstars to ever step through the ropes. However, I don’t think that all of those things necessarily warrant his presence for this event. There really isn’t that much left for him to accomplish in his career, this man has literally done it all. Stepping out of the spotlight for one event won’t kill him. John Cena won’t fade away into oblivion, even though some wish that he would.

By not appearing this year, I personally think that he’d show some support to the younger talent and the talent that seems to be stuck in some kind of mid-card purgatory. He isn’t exactly a spring chicken any more. Cena has lasted longer than many of his counterparts and has had quite the illustrious career. Everyone needs to calm down because I am not saying he needs to retire or anything like that, just step back a bit. Give the future of this company a chance to be truly recognized and have their moment in the sun.

After that, he can go right back to being Super Cena and the guy that we all love to heckle.

Leave a Reply

