You Don’t Have To Go Home, But…

The biggest party of the summer is over and the excitement is just starting.

Summerslam was the highest quality event that the WWE has put on in the last year or so. I’m not even kidding. Every match was extremely entertaining and things just seemed to click with everyone that was in the crowd and in the ring. It was a beautiful thing and many people were saying that it was even better than WrestleMania XXX, which took place on April 6th of this year. WrestleMania will always hold a special place in my heart but I have to admit that Summerslam was incredible. I have to give the math of the night award to Dolph Ziggler versus the Miz, seeing Dolph finally hoist that title above his head in victory was a great moment. If you didn’t feel proud of him and get off your ass and cheer your heart out for him, you’ve got issues.

The biggest surprise of the night was the lumberjack match between Seth Rollins and Dean Ambrose. It’s not that I thought it wasn’t going to be a good match, I just wasn’t sure about the stipulation. However, that match turned into something beautiful with the lumberjacks being mostly people who Seth had wronged in some way. The match was my second favorite of the night. I have to give it up to everyone that was involved in the match in any capacity. Lumberjack matches can get some competitors lost in the melee of it, but each one of those guys played a role in some way and I loved it.

It didn’t stop there, the crazy train spilled over onto Monday Night Raw the following night. When I say chaos, I’m not even trying to be funny or witty. Nikki Bella turned heel and unleashed her wrath on her sister Brie, I actually found myself liking Nikki. I KNOW RIGHT?! I could barely believe it myself. I think it’s a good move for her, I still think she’s a terrible actress but I like her being mean. She is much more believable as a bitch, I wasn’t buying her as a nice person (I just realized how terrible that sounds but I made my choice!). Miz invoked his rematch clause, won by disqualification, but wasn’t able to win the title. No big shock there, he just gets on my damn nerves. Everything that he does just irritates the bejesus out of me. I find Ryback more entertaining than the Miz, that’s saying a lot considering that I used to despise Ryback with the fire of 1000 suns.

Speaking of despising someone, Brock Lesnar was presented with the brand new WWE World Heavyweight Championship belt on Raw by Stephanie and Hunter. I must say, I actually like the belt and I like even more that the champion doesn’t have to carry around two belts. Lesnar didn’t unify them as many have said, they were unified before he won. All he got was a beautiful new belt, something he will hopefully lose very soon. The best moment of the night was the WWE Active match with Seth Rollins and Den Ambrose. I wasn’t expecting another match of that caliber right after that epic lumberjack match, they need to rest for god sakes! Rumor has it that Dean is going to be filming a movie (hopefully a horror movie because he would make an AWESOME serial killer) and he was written off of tv with a curbstomp delivered on a pile of cinder blocks. It looked so painful but a fitting send off for Dean Ambrose. He isn’t the type to go out with a simple shoulder or knee injury. He needed to go out in style.

The craziness continued this week on Raw yet again. We got the official announcement that Cena chose to use his rematch clause at Night of Champions. Yay.

My problem with this is Lesnar (I mean, come on, did you really expect me to say anything else?) and his lack of showing up. According to his schedule, his next appearance isn’t scheduled until the 15th of September. Did anyone tell him that the pay-per-view is that Sunday? Did he not write it down? That isn’t how you build a match. I’m not a Lesnar fan by any means but I’d probably give a shit about what he does if he was there to put in the same amount of effort as other superstars. He comes in, utters an empty threat, pounces on someone, then leaves for a few weeks/months. It’s getting a bit out of hand and I’d really rather watch Dwayne Johnson come back. At least he makes me laugh.

For the pro-Lesnar people, ratings my ass. You want the pay check, you show up to work more than once every three or four weeks. Cena always works hard but I don’t want him to get the belt, he just lost it, he’s hurting, he needs to take some time off. He should nurse his injuries, be silent for a bit, and then come back at Royal Rumble or Elimination Chamber ready to kick ass. The only way I will accept a second Lesnar victory is if there is a chance that Roman Reigns will take it from him. Please. For the love of God. I’m thinking that their match at Night of Champions will see Cena win, but by disqualification, allowing Lesnar to keep the belt.

Even more shocking than Stardust and Goldust turning heel on The Usos, was that I actually agreed with something that Hulk Hogan said. Hogan threw his support behind Cena and I nodded my head in agreement. WHOA! Did hell just freeze over?

I think that the build up to Night of Champions will be very interesting because every single title is on the line. A lot of rivalries will come to a boiling point and a whole lot of asses will be kicked. I’m hoping that Brock Lesnar’s will be one of them.

Leave a Reply

