Boobs and Belts: My journey as a female wrestling fan.

I love wrestling.

I never usually felt the need to explain why to anyone or have to defend myself. I just love it. Over the last day or so, I’ve been feeling like people are dismissing me as someone who possesses real knowledge of wrestling because I’m a female. When I give my input on something or have an opinion on something, I get brushed to the side. Just because I have boobs, I can’t possibly know what’s going on right?

Wrong.

First and foremost, I’m a fan. I work really hard so I can spend my money on merchandise, tickets, travel, and I love supporting the company that I love to death. I spend hours watching documentaries, YouTube, Netflix, basically anything that I can get my hands on and I couldn’t think of a better way to spend my time. I take a lot of pride in my wrestling knowledge and it makes me madder than hell when someone assumes I’m just a fan girl oogling all the guys in tights. It actually hurts my feelings when I’m left out of conversations or people bypass my opinions. Wrestling isn’t a boys club, it’s for everyone to enjoy. Some of the greatest people to ever step between those ropes have been women.

I learn as much as I can about whatever I can, and I’m always doing research and watching videos and documentaries. Wrestling is a real passion of mine, not something that I take lightly at all. I know all about the territory system (which I still maintain is dead and we will never see anything pre-1984 ever again), I know about promoters, champions, different organizations, tragedies, and triumphs. If I don’t know, I’m willing to learn. I have been running this blog for four years and I joke around a lot, I rag on a lot of the guys but I would NEVER intentionally make someone feel bad for an opinion that they had or something that they said. So when someone does that to me, it hurts. I consider wrestling fans a sacred community, full of people who are in it for their pure love of the sport and environment that goes along with it. When you get away from that, it doesn’t become fun for anyone anymore.

My gender does not make a difference. When I’m watching World Wrestling Entertainment, live or at home, I’m right there with the guys cheering just as loud and having just as much fun. Sometimes, I even cheer a lot louder and consume a lot more beer. It’s not like I picked up wrestling as a hobby. I’ve been watching this wonderful sport for almost 26 years, I’ve had some of the best times and worst times of my life watching it. Don’t go telling me that I don’t know what I’m talking about…

 

 

Leave a Reply

