Full Moon Rising.

Money In The Bank was the first pay-per-view event without Daniel Bryan. Truth be told, it was a little scary. I, much like the rest of the WWE Universe, didn’t quite know what to expect from it. Many dismissed it as being ‘lame’ or ‘stupid’ but I thought that it was one of the best events of 2014 (so far, of course!).

I felt like the superstars really had the pressure put on them with this event, even more so than at Wrestlemania. There was no champion to act as an anchor to the event. Even at Payback, Daniel Bryan still mad an appearance in a non-competing capacity. The entire roster of WWE superstars that competed at Money In The Bank really had to be ‘on’, they had to be at the top of their game. I definitely got my money’s worth out of that event, every single match was entertaining and the highlight of the night was the MITB contract ladder match. Many of those guys had never competed in that type of match before in their wrestling careers. I know that as a wrestler, I would be shitting my pants at the thought of being in that type of match. You never know what is going to happen and that is part of the magic of the MITB matches.

Both ladder matches were extremely good and all involved put on a great show. With that being said, I found the contract ladder match much more entertaining than the ladder match for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship. Look at who took part in the contract match, you have; Jack Swagger, Kofi Kingston, Dolph Ziggler, Dean Ambrose, Rob Van Dam, and Seth Rollins. Bad News Barrett was unfortunately not able to compete due to a very serious shoulder injury (cue crying everywhere!). In this particular group of superstars, you have a lot of risk-takers and high flyers. Throw a few of those in with some ladders and you have got yourself one hell of a show. Seth Rollins may have won that contract but each one of those guys walked away a winner in my eyes. As cliché as that sounds.

Not every event can be 100% perfect so I guess I have to try to find some sort of fault with what took place at the pay-per-view. If I had to pick something I guess it would be the performance put on by Paige. She was so incredibly boring and I want to like her, I really do. I just can’t bring myself to get behind her in the ring. That scream just irritates the bejesus out of me. She’s like John Cena or something, gets beat down to pull out three or four moves and win the match. Naomi was fantastic and carried the hell out of that match and Paige should be thankful. With her losing the title to Aj on Raw the following night, she should get time to build up her relationship with the fans and precision in the ring.

I didn’t really care for Kane helping Seth win either, but that wasn’t totally unexpected so I wouldn’t necessarily count it was a low point in the event. What many (including myself) saw as a low point was John Cena winning the WWE World Heavyweight Championship title in the second ladder match. Like seriously, Cena, AGAIN?! I used to love this guy, cheered him at any opportunity I had. Now, I just roll my eyes at him most of the time. My dad and I felt very apathetic towards this happening until my friend Katie brought up a good point about Cena being, essentially, a transitional champion. Just a spot filler, also pointing out how Cesaro, Roman, or Bray didn’t deserve a title run like that. Thinking about it, she is 100% right. If any three of those guys just picked up the belt to hand it over in a month or two, I’d be so upset.

What I wasn’t upset about was the episode of Monday Night Raw that treated fans to the immediate build up of Battleground, the next event happening for the company. The last episode of Monday Night Raw was all about set ups. Cena got set up to do his usual ‘rebel against the man’ title run, Naomi got set up for her pending epic beat down of Cameron, Dean and Seth added depth to their rivalry, and Roman and Hunter set up for their eventual clash.

I am so ready for Battleground.

Leave a Reply

