A New Hope.

Raw was in Chicago. But was CM Punk?

No, he wasn’t.

The crowd was rowdy and then his music hit, but he was nowhere to be found. Instead, we got treated to Paul Heyman and another villainous promo. Heyman sat in the ring, Punk style, and blamed the fans for stealing him and even went as far to blame the Undertaker. The inability of Punk to stop Taker at Wrestlemania last year was apparently the catalyst in the destruction of their relationship. I personally think that their match was the best match of the entire event last year. For the destruction of their relationship, Heyman wants the streak ended and Taker defeated by Brock Lesnar. Lesnar is the only capable superstar to do this in his mind.

Lesnar hit his cue and came out to wow us with his verbal acuity. He babbled about how the Undertaker is scared of him, I saw Raw last week and it looked like he pissed his pants at the sight of Taker. I don’t blame him because I would have done the exact same thing. Mark Henry came out to face Brock and Lesnar did his typical ‘I’m going to huff and puff to look really badass but everyone will see what a terrible wrestler I really am’ act and then he peaced out. I find Lesnar good for a cheap pop and reaction from people (not me, unless you count dislike) but he can’t wrestle for shit. Now, let’s talk about a couple of guys who can wrestle…

The Usos.

These two guys are probably the hottest tag team that the WWE has seen in a long time. I figured that they’d get screwed over, yet again, when they were set to face the New Age Outlaws. I figured that Hunter’s buddies were going to get to keep the titles that they didn’t really earn or deserve. Boy, was I ever wrong.

The Uso brothers wrestled a beautiful match, watching them is literally like watching a ballet in the ring. When Jimmy got the winning fall, I screamed ‘YES!’ at the top of my lungs and actually fist pumped. Not even joking, I actually held back tears. There is no better feeling than seeing someone get a title belt when they truly deserve it. Everyone in attendance that night could read it across the faces of Jimmy and Jey when they got to hold the belts that they fought so hard for. Moments like that make me truly happy and proud that I am a wrestling fan.

As fans, we really did get spoiled rotten on Raw this week. The WWE did all that they could to divert attention away from #HijackRAW and I think that they did a really good job of it. We got to see the beginning of the break up of Cesaro and Swagger. I am so happy about that because Cesaro is WAY too good to be saddled with such a mediocre partner. Jack was simply jealous that Cesaro was becoming so accepted by the fans and he wanted to stop that. When he interrupted Cesaro’s match with Big E, I thought Cesaro was going to flip his shit and knock him out. Cesaro did the same thing to Jack later that night, when Swagger faced Big E, just so he knew how it felt. We all knew the break up of that team was coming but watching the seeds of that split being planted was the best part.

That same logic also applies to The Shield. They had another epic match with the Wyatt Family on Monday and you could cut the tension between Reigns, Rollins, and Ambrose with a knife. Seth was left hanging and then he left his group members hanging. He was always the one who was holding them together, fixing what was broken and he just could not deal with it anymore. As sad as I would be to see such an amazing and dominating group split up, they would be so strong as singles competitors.

The final moments of Raw were the same as they’ve been for the last few months, Daniel Bryan got fucked.

He had to face Bootista, I mean, Batista. Randy Orton was ringside as well, how could this match have possibly ended well for Daniel? Hunter pulled his usual shit to get his buddy over and the fans voiced their opinions about it quite loudly. Batista just looks so tired in the ring, he can’t keep up with someone who works at the speed that Daniel Bryan does. Fans notice that and it reflects in their reaction towards what they are seeing in the ring. He’s just boring to watch, I’m not hating on him but he’s not what people want to watch anymore. When Daniel was attacking his knee, I was secretly hoping that something would happen and he would be out of the Wrestlemania main event. Harsh? Not really.

I would also like to add that I thoroughly enjoyed Aaron Paul as the special guest. Not only is he beautiful, but he seemed to genuinely be enjoying himself and what was happening in the ring. I hope that the WWE has him back again soon. Mostly so I can oogle him.

Another special moment was the announcement that WIlliam Moody, a.k.a Percy Pringle, a.k.a Paul Bearer, will be inducted into the Hall of Fame Class of 2014. I truly hope that the Undertaker is the one who inducts him, along with Kane, because he was the man who made both of them into the superstars they are today. I think that they would have been popular without him but he moulded them and shaped their in-ring characters, making them that much more special to the fans. Rest in peace Mr. Moody.

Leave a Reply

