Returning To Tradition.

I always enjoy when the WWE goes overseas, simply for the crowd reactions. Let me tell you a little secret, they never disappoint! This week, the WWE broadcasted Raw from Manchester, England. They get events with even less frequency than I do in Alberta, we get them about once every year and a half to two years. My only disappointment with them was that I wasn’t there to cheer with them against Randy Orton. This week was the second to last show leading up to the last big event of the year, let’s take a look at the card so far.

Survivor Series is only six days away and, so far, there are only three matches announced on the card. We have Randy Orton taking on Big Show, John Cena facing Alberto Del Rio, and CM Punk partnering with Daniel Bryan to take on Harper and Rowan from the Wyatt Family. I have to admit, they have me a little worried about the card but I’m confident that they will pull through and deliver. I may not really agree with the match, they’ve done a fantastic job of building Big Show versus Randy Orton for the WWE championship. Randy Orton has perfected the art of being the ultimate asshole, I mean, heel. He came out this week and said that Show didn’t deserve his title shot and that he didn’t earn it (I actually agree with him on this one, don’t have a heart attack people!).

If anyone knows anything about getting things you don’t deserve, it’s Randy Orton.

Randy was then put in a match where he had to face both Cody Rhodes and Goldust, the Rhodes brothers emerged victorious via a count out. Randy basically bailed because he knew he couldn’t win. Big Show, being the kind individual that he is, gladly helped Randy find his way back to the ring. He then proceeded to beat the holy hell out of him and put him through the commentary table, returning the gesture from last week. What I didn’t really care for was the potential injury angle that was being played up by showing Randy being checked out by the trainer backstage. He doesn’t need another excuse to not properly defend his title, what I mean by that is that he doesn’t need another easy out.

If I can’t have Daniel Bryan as my champion, I’ll gladly take the Big Show.

The second match on the card is John Cena versus Alberto Del Rio for the World Heavyweight Championship. All Del Rio wants to do is destroy Cena and take back his title. You have to admire his aggression and determination but there is no way that he will take the belt off of Cena. He interrupted Cena’s two on one handicap match against the Real Americans on Monday, with the sole purpose of trying to shake John Cena’s confidence heading into the event. I would call it a rather unsuccessful attempt but good for him for trying so hard. The match that I would have liked to see would have been Damien Sandow taking on John Cena. That would have been much more dynamic and entertaining, Sandow lost his Money In The Bank title shot to Cena. The storyline practically writes itself!

Much like Orton, I find Del Rio quite bland. I liked him much better when he was a man of the people and wasn’t just out to hurt people. They desperately need to do something with him because he is putting me, and the rest of the audience, to sleep. He can’t just randomly appear at ringside or have random matches. That’s the beauty of the WWE though, things always change and anything can happen. All they need to do is put him in the right feud with the right person, everything will fall into place after that. Personally, I’d like to see him take on someone like Kofi Kingston. I think that it would be a classic good versus bad storyline and it would inject some personality into Del Rio. Maybe he could even take on Curtis Axel for his Intercontinental belt, there are a multitude of possibilities. Alberto Del Rio needs to face someone who is a good foil for him in every single sense of the word.

The final announced match on the card is the one that I am most excited for is CM Punk and Daniel Bryan versus Harper and Rowan. We got a little preview of how Punk and Bryan function as a team on Monday Night Raw when they took on all three members of The Shield.

What we got before the actual match started was a little speech from Paul Heyman about how he blamed Punk for his injuries and how Ryback caused their loss at Hell In A Cell. Punk thankfully saved the day and took care of those two so we could move on with the match. Coming from similar indie backgrounds, I instantly knew that these two would make a dynamite team. What made the match even more fantastic, besides the huge ovations that both Punk and Daniel received, was that they got to face one of the strongest tag teams in recent memory, The Shield. Don’t get me wrong, the match was the best of the night but the ending is what made it. We got to see the potential rumblings of a traditional Survivor Series match that would see The Usos, Rhodes brothers, Punk, and Bryan, take on The Shied and Wyatt Family. Anyone who knows me knows that I LIVE for a traditional Survivor Series match.

To be honest, I got a little worried when I didn’t see that listed on the card but I have faith. I have faith that the WWE will listen to the fans on social media and give them what they want. The November classic was founded on team competition and that’s what the WWE universe is itching for.

Bring it on.

Leave a Reply

