Summerslam 2013: Feeling The Heat.

Monday night was the final push, the final chance to get your voice heard and put the fear of god into your opponent. Words were exchanged, slaps were dished out, people got thrown around, and a camera got destroyed on Raw. Some established their place as the dominant superstar going into their respective matches and some got knocked down a few pegs. Summerslam is just five short days away and then we will see who really put their money where their mouth is.

Who do I think will emerge victorious? Well, grab a beer and pull up a chair!

Alberto Del Rio (Champion) vs. Christian (World Heavyweight Championship match):

Winner: Christian

I just love Christian. All he wants is one more match and he won that right a few weeks ago by, yet again, defeating Alberto Del Rio. I really like the dynamic between these two wrestlers. Christian has the people behind him, he is the good guy, the one you want to win. Del Rio is the one you wish would take a face plant into the steel steps going into the ring.

I have one hope for this match. My hope is that Christian wins the title and gets to hoist that belt above his head and he enjoys every second of his title reign. Anyone who has followed his career knows that he has had his share of success, he has also had a lot of hardship. Whether it was backstage heat, various injuries, or just bad luck, Christian has persevered through it all. If that video package on Raw wasn’t enough to convince people that he will take home the title on Sunday, then they need their head examined. In my opinion, it doesn’t matter how long he has the title or if this is his ‘retirement match’. He will have earned this title reign and be proud of the fact that his fans have cheered him on for his entire career. This wrestling fan will be one of those people.

John Cena (Champion) vs. Daniel Bryan (WWE Championship match):

Winner; Daniel Bryan

I think it’s pretty set in stone that Bryan is going to take this one. I don’t dislike Cena, I just think he shouldn’t be champion right now. SUre, Daniel Bryan may not be the typical person that you picture when someone says ‘WWE Champion’. He is different, he marches to the beat of his own drum, and he is the underdog. Daniel Bryan is the person that no one expected to got his far in an industry like professional wrestling.

I think the most interesting point of his feud is the angle that Daniel is working. He said, in similar words, that John Cena is an entertainer and he is a wrestler. I have mentioned before that I do agree with some of what he said but not everything. To sum it up, they’re both wrestlers and they’re both entertainers, they just entertain in different ways. What makes this match exciting for me is that I think it is something that the WWE Universe wants to see. They want to see King Cena taken down. I don’t really think that a guest referee, HHH, is going to add anything to this match in any way. I would also just like to say that I am OVERJOYED that it isn’t Brad Maddox. Generally, I don’t really feel like guest referees add very much to a main event. Something of this magnitude should be left to the professionals, mainly Charles Robinson. Why him? Because I like him, that’s why!

Natalya vs. Brie:

Winner: Natalya

The women’s division got a little shot of adrenaline because of the Total Divas reality show, but it is still not where it needs to be. What I’d like to see is Natalya beat Brie with a clean finish. Not anything like that ref botch that happened on Raw. Man, that was as much embarrassing as it was completely confusing.

I want this division to do well. I want to see these women be taken as seriously as their male counterparts are.

This division is desperate for a turnaround. It isn’t going to happen overnight, it isn’t going to be easy, but it can be done. Having someone like Natalya (a female wrestler who can actually wrestle) win on Sunday could be the first step in the right direction.

Dean Ambrose (Champion) vs. Rob Van Dam (United States Championship match):

Winner: Dean Ambrose

This is a match that is taking place on the kick-off show. It had little build up other than a 20 man battle royal on Raw this week. I do think that it will be good but probably not a particularly strong match-up. I know I will have more to say after the actual match happens but I can’t think of anything to really say about it right now.

I guess it will be interesting to see how someone like Dean Ambrose does with a high flyer like RVD. Who knows, this match may surprise us and be amazing. I think the entire Summerslam card is great but I’m a little on the fence about this match. The one outcome I do want to see is for Dean to retain, especially since RVD isn’t around for the long run and Night of Champions is right around the corner.

CM Punk vs. Brock Lesnar:

Winner: CM Punk

The Beast versus the Best.

I don’t like Brock Lesnar. Never have and never will. He can’t wrestle, can’t do a promo, and just generally annoys the hell out of me. I was kind of on the fence when he showed back up (I don’t believe in part-time guys getting top spots). When it was revealed that Punk was his opponent, I was ecstatic. I love Punk and his presence in this match makes it feel like it belongs in the main event slot at Wrestlemania. Adding to the dynamic even more, is the now hostile and damaged relationship that CM Punk has with Paul Heyman. Paul turned on Punk when he was told he was no longer needed in the manager/ringside capacity. A long-standing friendship ended and one of the hottest rivalries of the year began to heat up.

I don’t think that Paul or any of the ‘Paul Heyman Guys’ are going to sit this match out. I 150% expect some form of interference. I also expect Punk to take out whoever chooses to interfere with a GTS.

This won’t be a clean or fair fight by any means and this fan is looking forward to a fight.

Kane vs. Bray Wyatt (Ring of Fire match):

Winner: Kane

Inferno match. Do I really need to say anymore?

Cody Rhodes vs. Damien Sandow:

Winner: Cody Rhodes

It was hard for me to pick a winner in this match because I like them both. This is going to be a fantastic match from both sides and really enjoyable for all of the fans. This is one feud that I hope goes on for a while because Cody and Damien are just two really likeable superstars, the addition of the MITB briefcase just adds to the tension.

I see one ending for this storyline is the two hugging it out in the ring and resuming their team dynamic. Can you imagine them in the middle of the ring after a long bout, exhausted, teary eyed, and hugging? That would be epic, it would give the fans hope that the bromance could live on.

Dolph Ziggler/Kaitlyn vs. AJ Lee/Big E. Langston:

Winner: Dolph/Kaitlyn

Out of all the matches, this is the one I am the least interested in. I don’t really care who wins, as I think that Dolph has moved past needing AJ in his life (not that he ever needed her). I want to see everyone involved in this match just move on and find something else to be involved in. Hopefully, this match on Sunday will be the catalyst in that. Let’s get this straight, I think this match will be good but it just isn’t really doing anything for me.

I just don’t care for the female division right now and I think that is what is contributing to my apathy towards this match. I can’t remember the last time I saw a decent mixed tag team bout.

Even though I may not have a vested interest in a few of the matches, it is still an incredibly strong card to the WWE to put on for the fans. It will be entertaining and engaging, with more than a few surprises to keep everyone on the edge of their seats.

I mean, come on…this is the WWE we’re talking about here!

Leave a Reply

