Shake It Up.

I was on vacation for the last week and didn’t get to watch Monday Night Raw until this past Friday, but I did keep up with what was going on via Twitter and Facebook. I thought Raw was decent but there was no build for matches other than the last segment. Sure, there was a little work done here and there for the other feuds but it just wasn’t enough. I don’t think the matches will be bad, I just wish there was more meat to them.

I felt that the highlight of the show was the continuation of the incredible build between Punk and the Undertaker. I took particular note of how offended everyone was and I honestly do not get it.

The only thing I took issue with was that Paul Heyman was dressed like Paul Bearer. Not because I thought it was wrong, I just thought it was incredibly creepy. With the poor quality of the build for the other matches this year, we should feel like Wayne and Garth bowing in front of Aerosmith saying “We’re not worthy”. The work that Undertaker and CM Punk have put into their program is absolutely incredible, mind-blowingly incredible. (Is mind-blowingly a word?)

Everyone just needs to relax and get over themselves. This obviously never would have gone forward had any of the participants said no.

And can we PLEASE discuss Shawn Michaels appearing to tell Triple H that he will stand in his corner this Sunday? I thought it all sounded phony and I wasn’t buying it.We get it, you guys are best friends and want to be there for each other. In my personal opinion, it should just be Hunter and Lesnar out there. That will never happen because Lesnar couldn’t wrestle his way out of a wet paper bag. He may be good at dominating people but when it comes to a fight, he can’t hang with the big boys. All he has is his size, UFC isn’t WWE and it takes actual ability to get somewhere. He couldn’t cut it if he wasn’t being pandered to by management. The only person who makes me angrier is the Rock and I’m pretty sure everyone knows by now how I feel about him.

The other shining moment, albeit miniscule compared to Taker/Punk, was when Daniel Bryan did a flying headbutt from the top rope. I always take that as a nod to Chris Benoit and smile a little bit. It still makes me so sad that Benoit is forever erased from wrestling history because of what happened.

My feelings towards the build for this Wrestlemania may seem mixed but I still expect big things from the grandest event in sports entertainment. I fully intend to be screaming my face off from my couch and I know it will be a hell of a ride!

Leave a Reply

