An Open Letter To Glenn Beck.

Mr. Beck,

It appears to me that you know very little to absolutely nothing about World Wrestling Entertainment, based upon your attitude towards the company, its superstars, and fans. I have a few things to say to you…

You spoke in a video clip about how the Jack Swagger/Zeb Colter angle is miscasting the Tea Party. I’d hate to break it to you, but you are doing the exact same thing to wrestling and its fans by calling us ‘stupid’. It’s a character, a gimmick, something to get a rise out of people. I can admit that I don’t like it but I get why they would do it. I understand it because I watch wrestling all the time and get how it works. I don’t just dismiss it as trivial or ridicule people who love it because I don’t comprehend what is happening. Anyone who is a fan of, or involved with, wrestling isn’t stupid. Many of the wrestlers have degrees in various fields and choose to wrestle because it is something they feel passionately about and have loved most of their lives. For example, David Otunga is a Harvard educated lawyer and chooses to wrestle. Is he stupid?

The Swagger/Colter storyline also has NOTHING to do with Linda McMahon, contrary to the lies you are spreading. She left the company almost five years ago and relinquished any influence she had when she went to run for Senate. I think you need to get a new fact checker because I would love to know where you get your information from.

Wrestling is entertainment. How is the storyline different from anything else in television and movies? It isn’t. You ridicule and pick on what you don’t understand.

I think you should have taken the opportunity to go on Raw and speak to the people who you think are dumb because they love something with such passion and vigor. I would have loved to see you on there because I know exactly what would have happened to you. You would have had nothing of substance to say and been laughed right out of that arena. You can say whatever you want on your show because you are surrounded by people who think exactly like you do. You wouldn`t go on Vince McMahon`s show because you would have people to challenge your outlandish points.

I have been watching wrestling since I was born and I love it. Watching the WWE with my dad is my favorite thing to do. I watch every single pay-per-view, every Monday Night Raw, read the magazines, and blog about it. If you bothered to do any research, you would have found out about its rich history and gained some knowledge. No one says you have to like it but you shouldn`t dump all over those who do. At least educate yourself on the topic a little before dismissing it. I know it`s all planned but that doesn`t stop me from enjoying it. I still get just as excited about wrestling today as I did when I was a kid. I`m sure there is something in your life that you love, at least I hope there is.

And one more thing, the WWE isn’t demonizing the Tea Party, they do a pretty good job of that on their own.

Leave a Reply

