One Last Bump In The Road.

This past Sunday was the Elimination Chamber pay-per-view. Traditionally, the last major stop on the road to Wrestlemania. This is the last chance for many of the superstars on the roster to earn a spot on the card for the biggest event in sports entertainment. Some of those who got a spot may not deserve it, in my opinion, and some who didn’t get one should have.

The chamber match is always my favorite and I always liked when they have two of them but it is tough with the storyline involving the current WWE champion. The participants this year were; Kane, Chris Jericho, Daniel Bryan, Jack Swagger, Mark Henry, and Randy Orton. The winner of the match gets to face Alberto Del Rio for the World Heavyweight Championship. My choices to win were either Kane or Chris Jericho. I just really like the two of them and feel like they would present such a great match. However, Jack Swagger won. I shook my head in disbelief. A guy who wasn’t on television for months, comes in and steals the win. There are obvious reasons why this wasn’t the best choice and his current gimmick is the one that stands out the most to me.

It is just awful, simply awful. That awfulness was exacerbated by that speech and stupid propaganda video that was shown. Oh god, how terrible was that? The whole ‘All-American American’ thing was tolerable but full-blown racism isn’t. I get that it is reminiscent of something that Iron Shiek and Sgt. Slaughter might do but I don’t know if it fits into the WWE today. I’m all for being cutting edge and out of the box but I don’t think this is flying well with people. If you follow Twitter, it is causing a lot of conversation and it offended a lot of people. I don’t like it. If it turns out to be some sort of brainwashing cult storyline then I think that is the only way it could possibly work. There is no way a normal person would agree to say the things they are saying. I’m sure there is a better way they could have gone about it but I couldn’t even begin to tell you what it is because I find this whole gimmick ridiculous.

The match between Del Rio and Big Show was refreshing and exciting, great for a feud that was getting stale. I am loving Alberto Del Rio as a face and Big Show is hilarious, but both need to move on to something new. Antonio Cesaro and Miz was actually kind of boring, more so on the part of the Miz. I think he would have been better served in a feud with Lesnar and Cesaro should have been feuding with Swagger (you know, before he drank the kool-aid). I’d also like to add that no matter how hard he tries, Miz will never be Ric Flair. He’s got enough problems. I even found their rematch on Raw boring.

Another point I would like to make about Raw is that Dolph Ziggler seems like he is stuck in some sort of purgatory that is caused by that briefcase. He delivers fantastic matches and can sell a move like no one else on the roster (except maybe Dean Ambrose). He just needs to do what everyone knows he can do, capture that belt and have one hell of a title run. I know I just have to bide my time and it will happen. In my ideal world, Ziggler will cash in his briefcase at Wrestlemania, steal the title from Del Rio and hold it until Summerslam or Survivor Series.

Speaking of Dean Ambrose, The Shield was so impressive in their match against Ryback, Sheamus, and John Cena. Seth Rollins, Roman Reigns, and Dean Ambrose are a bright spot on the roster and I am thoroughly enjoying their in-ring abilities. It isn’t just the wrestling or the mic work, they are dynamic and exciting. I didn’t like them at first because I didn’t know what to think of them. I like that they are an independent unit and aren’t tied to an already established superstar, it makes their impact that much bigger.

Now onto the meat of the sandwich, CM Punk versus The Rock. The match went exactly the way that I thought it would go and I am not the least bit surprised. Rocky wins, Punk gets screwed. Yaaaaaay!

And we all know that Cena isn`t going to lose his spot at Wrestlemania. Anyone who thinks that is a dum dum. If Undertaker doesn`t come back, we will see a triple threat match with Cena winning and doing his celebratory hoisting of the belt. What I do not like is that they have to cover for the absence of The Rock. A champ should be there each and every week with that belt, not work part-time because his movie schedule interferes. Fans deserve more than that…and they deserve more than a belt that ugly. The spinner belt wasn`t perfect but it was a lot better than what they showed on Raw. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

